Print this page

Danny Melvin is Jackson County Cattleman of the Year Featured

Cattleman of the Year, Danny Melvin Cattleman of the Year, Danny Melvin

The Jackson County Cattlemen’s Association had their annual meeting last Thursday evening with scholarships being awarded, officers named, and honors bestowed on their members.

The highest honor went to this year’s Cattleman of the Year, Danny Melvin.  In making the announcement, Ken Godfrey said of Melvin, “It’s been a tradition since 1991 each year to recognize Jackson County’s outstanding cattleman for their selfless generosity to the Association, our cattle industry, our families, and our country.  The winner is selected by a committee comprised of all past cattlemen of the year since 1991.  This year’s recipient maintains a herd of approximately 10 purebred Simmental cattle.  He has served on the cattlemen’s board of directors for a number of years.  He cooks for various civic groups and was instrumental in starting the ‘Cowboy Church’ in his community.  He also mans the Cattlemen’s booth for Farm City Day and is active in Farm City Week.”

Godfrey continued, “This guy is out there every day promoting the Cattlemen’s Association and our industry.  He is always available to lend a helping hand from helping hurricane victims to working cattle.  This year’s recipient is just an all-around good person and will go above and beyond for everyone he can.”

Godfrey concluded with, “Please help me in congratulating Mr. Danny Melvin as this year’s Cattleman of the Year.” 

Recognized by the Cattlemen’s Association for the Top Hand Award was Martin Basford.  His award was presented by Jeff Snell who said of Basford, “This is your go-to guy. If you need something, pick up the phone and he’s there.  Please give a hand to Martin Basford, our Top Hand Award this year.”

Kim DeFelix was named President of the Jackson County Cattlemen’s Association for the coming year.  DeFelix was last year’s first ever woman Cattleman of the Year recipient and this year becomes the Jackson County Cattlemen’s Association’s first ever woman president.

Scholarships is a huge part of what the Jackson County Cattlemen’s Association give back to the community.  They awarded 10 scholarships this year with eight through the academic program at Chipola College and two through the Workforce Development program.  

Grace Daffin, a 2017 graduate of Marianna High School is majoring in Communication Disorders.  She said of her scholarship, “This is great and it is so much appreciated.  College is expensive but so worth it in the end.”  

Donald Dowling is a 2017 graduate of Sneads High School and his scholarship will be used to help him this year with his major being Social Science education.  Colby Hargrove is a 2016 graduate of Cottondale High School majoring in Computer/Robotic Engineering.

Kayla McDonald is a 2016 graduate of Marianna High School who is a nursing major.  Laramie Pooser graduated from Cottondale High School in 2017 and is majoring in Animal Science and Microbiology and Cell Science.  

McKayleh See is a 2016 graduate of Cottondale High School and is a nursing major.  Mason Taylor is a 2016 graduate of Cottondale High School and is majority in Agriculture Education.  Derrick White is a 2017 graduate of Graceville High School who is majoring in business.  

From the Chipola Workforce program, two scholarships were awarded with one going to Anthony Horton who is pursuing certification through the welding program.  John Yon is pursuing certification as a Civil Engineering Tech and was the other recipient of the workforce development scholarship.

The Jackson County Cattlemen’s Association has given over $20,000 in scholarships to local students.  Their biggest fundraiser has been their annual golf tournament with all the proceeds from the tournament going to the scholarship fund.

Write a comment...
awesome comments!
Last modified onWednesday, 01 November 2017 20:15

Latest from Shelia Mader

The Jackson County Times Inc. Jackson County Times A Hatcher Publication All rights reserved.