Lasche House Partenza

  • Written by 

The property was purchased by Ethyl Baltzell in 1908, and the records indicate there was a house on site. It is believed that the house was two stories, with the second floor destroyed in a fire. Only the bottom floor was rebuilt. The latest restoration was achieved by the Rex Torbetts in 2004.

At some point th ehouse was divided into a duplex with a foyer across the front, side entrances, still intact, and hallways down each side of the center wall. The house always had an interesting design in the circle on the front porch over the door.

The side doors, trim and dental work are original and new woodwork was duplicated. The original floors were restored. Seven of the eight coal burning fireplaces are intact, with the original mantles. One particularly interesting fireplace has special tile work original to the house. Three original chandeliers were reworked.

Removing the central walls made this charming house a wonderful example of how a 100 year old house can be used very effectively in the 21st Century.

Georgia Baltzell Lasche and her sister, Margaret Baltzel Robinson, were raised in this house. They married in a double military wedding at St. Lukes Episcopal Church. The Lasches were the last family members to live in the house.
Cited from Self-Guided Tour of the Marianna Area.

Presented by Main Street Marianna and Chipola Historical Trust Jackson County Florida

Write a comment...
awesome comments!
Last modified onWednesday, 01 January 2014 04:19
back to top